You are here

WEBINAR "Women in Politics: Experiences from Green leaders"

The Global Greens Women's Network (GGWN) was established at the 3rd Global Greens Congress in Dakar in 2012 to support and promote the participation of Green women worldwide in democratic political processes. 

On April 16, 2016, the GGWN will launch its first Webinar, as part of the program of the GG Women’s Academy, with a great panel of Green Women Leaders of different continents to share experience and learn from each other.

This is a very special day because it will be the Global Greens 15th Anniversary! On 16 April 2001, the Global Greens Charter was adopted by consensus at the first Global Greens Congress in Canberra, Australia.

It is a good day to remind our main principles: ecological wisdom, social justice, direct democracy, nonviolence, sustainability and respect for diversity. This year the Global Greens Women Network is leading this celebration! For the empowering of women around the world!

Book here now - for free

Speakers will include:

  • Robinah K. Nanyunja - Former Parliamentary Candidate for Kawempe North for the 2016 Uganda National elections

  • Metiria Turei - Member of the New Zealand Parliament and co-leader of the Green Party

  • Maria Wetterstrand - Former spokesperson for 9 years in Sweden, former Member of Parliament

  • Julia Duppre - Former Parliamentary Candidate for Rio de Janeiro in Brazil

  • Moderator: Keli Yen - Global Greens Coordinator

Book here now - for free

Details

  • The webinar will be in English. We will have written summary translation into some other languages.

  • It is free - but donations are welcome.

  • To participate, you need a computer, Internet access, speakers and a microphone.

  • You will need to register so we can email you a link to login.

Date and time:  Saturday 16 April, 2016, 11 am to 12.30 pm UTC

You will need to work out the corresponding date and time in your country: http://www.timeanddate.com/worldclock/converter.html

For example, 11 am UTC on16 April is

Canada

Toronto, Montrea, Ottawa

07 am, 16 April

Chile

Santiago

08 am, 16 April

Brazil

Rio de Janeiro

08 am, 16 April

UK

London

12 am, 16 April

Belgium

Brussels

1 pm, 16 April

Kenya

Nairobi

2 pm, 16 April

Uganda

Kampala

3 pm, 16 April

India

New Delhi

4.30 pm, 16 April

Korea

Seoul

8 pm, 16 April

Australia

Canberra

9 pm, 16 April

New Zealand

Auckland / Wellington

11 pm, 16 April

This is the first time the Global Greens Women Network have held a webinar. We welcome your comments and suggestions  - to [email protected].

The number of participants is limited so book nowBook here for free

Global Green Federations

Get Involved

Social Networks