You are here

Invitation: Global Greens Paris COP21 Webinar

The world's governments are meeting in Paris starting 30 November for crucial talks aimed at reaching an agreement to curb climate change. We need to keep fossil fuels in the ground, switch to renewable energy and commit to finance the transition fairly. But the pledges are not adding up and the earth remains on the path to danger.

Greens are part of the global movement building momentum for a safe climate. We will be in the global climate marches on 27-29 November, the weekend before COP21 begins. We will be at COP21 in Paris. And for the first time we are organising a global webinar (online seminar) where Greens can come together and discuss what we are doing to tackle climate change.

Speakers will include:

  • Christine Milne (Global Greens Ambassador and formerly Leader of the Australian Greens)
  • Frank Habineza (President, African Greens Federation)
  • Elizabeth May (Leader, Green Party of Canada)
  • Alejandro San Martín Bravo (Former President, Partido Ecologista Verde de Chile)
  • Yujin Lee (Co-Respresentative, Green Party Korea)
  • Kennedy Graham ( Global Affairs Spokesperson, Green Party of Aotearoa New Zealand)
  • Reinhard Bütikofer (Co-Chair, European Green Party) 
  • Meyrem Almaci (President, Flemish Greens)

Book here for free

Details

  • The webinar will be in English and we hope to have written translation into some other languages
  • It is free (but donations are welcome)
  • To participate, you need a computer, internet access, speakers and a microphone. We will arrange a training session beforehand so you can check your equipment.
  • You will need to register so we can email you a link to login: book here for free

Date and time:  Monday 9 November, 9 pm to 10.30 pm UTC

You will need to work out the corresponding date and time in your country: http://www.timeanddate.com/worldclock/converter.html

For example, 9 pm UTC on 9 November is --

USA Los Angeles 1 pm, 9 November
Canada Toronto 4pm, 9 November
Chile Santiago 6 pm, 9 November
Brazil Rio de Janeiro 7 pm, 9 November
UK London 9 pm, 9 November
Belgium Brussels 10 pm, 9 November
Kenya Nairobi 12 midnight, 9-10 November
India New Delhi 2:30 am, 10 November
Korea Seoul 6 am, 10 November
Australia Canberra 8 am, 10 November
New Zealand Auckland 10 am, 10 November

This is the first time the Global Greens have held a webinar. We welcome your comments and suggestions  - to [email protected].

Book here for free

 

Events

You can also view Upcoming Events   Past Events

Global Green Federations

Get Involved

Social Networks